AACTA Awards nominations 2021: The Newsreader, Wakefield lead pack

It was once one of the talked-about displays of 2021 – and now its heading in the right direction for some large wins at this yr’s AACTA Awards.

The Newsreader was once one of the talked-about displays of 2021 – and its recognition has been mirrored with an excellent sweep of nominations for Australia’s largest TV and picture awards this yr.

The six-part ABC sequence has scored a whopping 10 nods throughout a spread of classes forward of the 2021 AACTA Awards, which might be held on the Sydney Opera Area on December 8.

The once a year match honours the most efficient in Australian TV and picture – and this yr, it’s given nods to Nitram that includes Anthony LaPaglia, The Dry starring Eric Bana, Penguin Bloom with Naomi Watts, The Newsreader, Wakefield, Mr Inbetween, Wentworth and Jack Irish.

Fact TV juggernauts together with The Block, The Voice, LEGO Masters and MasterChef Australia have as soon as once more been recognised, along side Luxe Listings Sydney and returning favorite, The Actual Housewives of Melbourne.

The Awards, which incorporates the public-voted AACTA Audience Choice Awards, might be broadcast on Channel 10, at 7.30pm, Wednesday, December 8, and encored within the days following on Fox Area on Foxtel, Binge and AACTA TV.


(Complete listing of nominations may also be discovered on the AACTA website.)


Absolute best Drama Collection


Jack Irish

Mr Inbetween

The Newsreader

General Keep watch over



Absolute best Kids’s Program

100% Wolf: Legend of the Moonstone


The Bureau of Magical Issues

Dive Membership


Kangaroo Seaside

Absolute best Comedy Leisure Program

Dom and Adrian 2020

Exhausting Quiz

The Moth Impact

Spicks And Specks

The Weekly

Absolute best Comedy Performer

Mark Samual Bonanno – Aunty Donna’s Large Ol’ Area of A laugh

Kitty Flanagan – Fisk

Tom Gleeson – Exhausting Quiz

Broden Kelly – Aunty Donna’s Large Ol’ Area of A laugh

Sarah Kendall – Frayed

Nakkiah Lui – Preppers

Luke McGregor – Rosehaven

Celia Pacquola – Rosehaven

Absolute best Course in Drama or Comedy

Fires (Episode 2) – Ana Kokkinos

Mr Inbetween (Episode 6) – Nash Edgerton

The Newsreader (Episode 1) – Emma Freeman

Wakefield (Episode 5) – Kim Mordaunt

Wakefield (Episode 8) – Jocelyn Moorhouse

Absolute best Course in Nonfiction Tv

Brazen Hussies – Catherine Dwyer

Hannah Gadsby – Douglas – Madeleine Parry

Love at the Spectrum (Episode 4) – Cian O’Clery

Ms Represented with Annabel Crabb (Episode 1) – Stamatia Maroupas

You Can’t Ask That (Episode 1) – Kirk Docker

Absolute best Documentary or Factual Program

Brazen Hussies

EXPOSED: The Ghost Educate Fireplace

Lifestyles in Color with David Attenborough

Ms Represented with Annabel Crabb

Previous Other people’s House For 4 12 months Olds

The Faculty That Attempted to Finish Racism

Absolute best Leisure Program

Australian Ninja Warrior

LEGO® Masters Australia

The Masked Singer


Sydney Homosexual and Lesbian Mardi Gras 2021

The Voice

Absolute best Factual Leisure Program

Australia Talks

Courtney Act’s One Plus One

Gogglebox Australia

Love at the Spectrum

The Venture

You Can’t Ask That

Absolute best Lead Actor in a Drama Introduced via Foxtel

Rudi Dharmaligam – Wakefield

Man Pearce – Jack Irish

Sam Reid – The Newsreader

Richard Roxburgh – Fires

Scott Ryan – Mr Inbetween

Absolute best Lead Actress in a Drama Introduced via Foxtel

Deborah Mailman – General Keep watch over

Mandy McElhinney – Wakefield

Miranda Otto – Fires

Pamela Rabe – Wentworth

Anna Torv – The Newsreader

Absolute best Way of life Program

Adam and Poh’s Malaysia in Australia

The Cook dinner Up with Adam Liaw

Gardening Australia

Grand Designs Australia

The Dwelling Room

Like it or Listing it Australia

Absolute best Miniseries or Telefeature

A Sunburnt Christmas

The Finish


New Gold Mountain

The Extraordinary Suspects

Absolute best Narrative Comedy Collection


Aunty Donna’s Large Ol’ Area of A laugh





Absolute best Fact Program

The Wonderful Race Australia

Australian Survivor: Brains v Brawn

The Block

Luxe Listings Sydney

MasterChef Australia

The Actual Housewives of Melbourne

Absolute best Screenplay in Tv

Mr Inbetween (Episode 6) – Scott Ryan

The Newsreader (Episode 1) – Michael Lucas

The Newsreader (Episode 5) – Kim Ho & Michael Lucas

Wakefield (Episode 5) – Kristen Dunphy & Sam Meikle

General Keep watch over (Episode 1) – Stuart Web page

Absolute best Stand-Up Particular

Anne Edmonds and Lloyd Langford – Industry with Excitement

Celia Pacquola – Let Me Know How It All Works Out

Hannah Gadsby – Douglas

Lano and Woodley in Lano and Woodley

Rhys Nicholson Are living on the Athenaeum

Tom Gleeson – Lighten Up

Absolute best Supporting Actor in a Drama

Harry Greenwood – Wakefield

William McInnes – The Newsreader

Matt Nable – Mr Inbetween

Stephen Peacocke – The Newsreader

Justin Rosniak – Mr Inbetween

Absolute best Supporting Actress in a Drama

Michelle Lim Davidson – The Newsreader

Marg Downey – The Newsreader

Harriet Dyer – Wakefield

Rachel Griffiths – General Keep watch over

Noni Hazlehurst – The Finish


Absolute best Movie

The Dry

The Furnace

Top Flooring


Penguin Bloom


Absolute best Tailored Screenplay in Movie

The Dry – Rob Connolly & Harry Cripps

Penguin Bloom – Shaun Grant & Harry Cripps

Peter Rabbit 2 – Will Gluck & Patrick Burleigh

Rams – Jules Duncan

Absolute best Course in Movie

The Dry – Rob Connolly

The Furnace – Roderick MacKay

Top Flooring – Stephen Maxwell Johnson

Nitram – Justin Kurzel

Penguin Bloom – Glendyn Ivin

Absolute best Indie Movie


Ellie and Abbie (& Ellie’s Lifeless Aunt)

Lone Wolf

Moon Rock for Monday

My First Summer season

Beneath My Pores and skin

Absolute best Lead Actor in Movie

Simon Baker – Top Flooring

Eric Bana – The Dry

Caleb Landry Jones – Nitram

Ahmed Malek – The Furnace

Jacob Junior Nayinggul – Top Flooring

Absolute best Lead Actress in Movie

Rose Byrne – Peter Rabbit 2

Judy Davis – Nitram

Noni Hazlehurst – June Once more

Genevieve O’Reilly – The Dry

Naomi Watts – Penguin Bloom

Absolute best Authentic Screenplay in Movie

Ellie and Abbie (& Ellie’s Lifeless Aunt) – Monica Zanetti

The Furnace – Roderick MacKay

Top Flooring – Chris Anastassiades

June Once more – JJ Winlove

Nitram – Shaun Grant

Absolute best Supporting Actor in Movie

Michael Caton – Rams

Baykali Ganambarr – The Furnace

Anthony LaPaglia – Nitram

Sean Mununggurr – Top Flooring

Jack Thompson – Top Flooring

Absolute best Supporting Actress in Movie

Essie Davis – Nitram

Claudia Karvan – June Once more

Esmerelda Marimowa – Top Flooring

Miranda Tapsell – The Dry

Jacki Weaver – Penguin Bloom


Absolute best Quick Shape Comedy Introduced via Fb

A Lifestyles in Questions: Knowledge Faculty with Aaron Chen

All My Buddies Are Racist

Party Country

Hug the Solar

Jimmy Rees

Samantha Andrew

Absolute best Quick Shape Drama

Stunning They

The Bends

Dwarf Planet


The Tailings

You and Me, Sooner than and After

Absolute best Quick Shape Leisure

Chopsticks or Fork?

Gourmand Lazy

Nat’s What I Reckon

Ozzy Guy Critiques

Sturdy Ladies

Woven Threads – Tales from Inside

Firstly revealed as AACTA Awards nominations 2021: The Newsreader, Wakefield lead pack

Source link